Looking for Copies

I was taking a shower when I suddenly thought of the films I’ve been looking for copies of for the longest time now but still haven’t found any. Eto sila…

copies, anyone? 

THE TEENAGE TEXTBOOK MOVIE
country: Singapore
year: 1998
director: Phillip Lim
cast: Melody Chen, Caleb Goh, Lim Hwee Sze

I saw this movie on Cinemax way back in ’99 yata when they had a filmfest of Southeast Asian films. It’s basically a coming-of-age flick that was based on the novel “The Teenage Textbook”, which apparently was a cult-classic among the Singaporean Gen-Xers. I’ve been looking everywhere for a copy of the movie pero wala talaga. When I visited Singapore last year, I found out that it actually never got a proper video release. Then late last year, I saw this being sold as a download at Kazaa. However, I still wasn’t able to purchase it because (1) I don’t have a credit card and my sisters won’t let me use theirs, and (2) my humble dial-up connection won’t be able to handle the download anyway. So, anyone?

WHAT TIME IS IT THERE? (Ni Neibian Jidian)
country: Taiwan/France
year: 2001
director: Tsai Ming-liang
cast: Lee Kang-sheng, Chen Shiang-chyi, Lu Yi-Ching

I first learned about “What Time Is It There?” during Cinemanila 2003 (or was it ’04). Just one look at the synopsis and we (me and TP) were immediately intrigued. [Synopsis from Wikipedia: “It is about a street vendor (Lee) who, after meeting a girl (Chen) who is travelling to Paris, is overcome by the urge to set every clock he sees to Paris time.”] Unfortunately though, we didn’t get the chance to watch it then. Good news is that just this afternoon, I found out that Chard (a big Tsai Ming-liang fan) actually owns a copy of the movie. Yey! I just hope he gets it back soon so that Tonet can watch it, then me!

GOSFORD PARK
country: USA
year: 2001
director: Robert Altman
cast: Maggie Smith, Ryan Phillippe, Clive Owen, Helen Mirren, Emily Watson

You wouldn’t think this was THAT hard to find since it’s from the USA, an Altman film, has fairly big stars, and was high-profile when it was released. But no… seven years and I still have yet to even just lay my eyes on a copy. I could go to the online stores of course, but as I said I don’t have a credit card. And even if I did, I don’t think I can allow myself to buy the DVD because it’s just too expensive — especially for a film I haven’t even seen yet.

QUITTING (Zuotian)
country: China
year: 2001
director: Yang Zhang
cast: Jia Hongsheng, Jia Fengsen, Chai Xiuling, Wang Tong

This was my favorite (along with “Farewell My Concubine”) among the films that were shown to us in our Film 106 (Chinese Cinema) class. It is based on the true story of Chinese actor Jia Hongsheng (who plays himself here) and his struggle with drug addiction. His real parents and his sister, interestingly, also play themselves in the movie. I remember really liking this then particularly because of its visual style and the story itself. But of course the many references to The Beatles, of whom Jia Hongsheng was a fan, made throughout the film didn’t hurt as well. I tried to look for a copy of this during my trip but it was so hard because I didn’t know the Chinese title. Ugh, stupid.

So kung meron kayo, may kilala kayo na meron, o may alam kayo na mapagbibilhan ng mga ‘to… please. Isang click lang ang comments page.

8 Responses to Looking for Copies

  1. bittergrace says:

    oh, hihiramin ko rin yung What Time is it There? from Chard. wahaha, paunahan tayo. or, better yet, marathon!

  2. Raya says:

    Interesting that you have the teenage textbook, it’s one of the first films I asked my parents to buy me abroad. Of course I saw it again and it’s this crappy blackhole of a Singaporean dud, but I love the nostalgia. I think I have the vcd somewhere. And Gosford Park as well. And What Time is it there pirata…

  3. paranggago says:

    Uy Raya… hi. Um… pahiram? Hehe. Sige na… pipiratahin ko rin lang tas ibabalik ko rin.
    🙂

    Teenage Textbook… lol. For more nostalgia nga lang. Na-enjoy ko talaga ‘to nung bata ako.

  4. ice says:

    Ive seen Gosford Park. Interesting enough. Butt- numbing long. I think I can burn you a copy. Just downloaded it at torrents.

  5. chard says:

    oy leo, asar. bat nasa wordpress ka na rin?? haha. ayan tuloy parang nangangati na ko mag-wordpress din. haha.

    yey, mapapanuod niyo na rin ang What time is it there! haha.

  6. paderewski says:

    potangina shet what time is it there! i got to watch that in cinemanila and i loved it ! back then a lot of movies were like that what noel vera would call cinema of the comatose, lncluding batang west side, atarnajuat etc. pa-real time effect. pakopya naman please ! or maybe he knows where we can get a copy ! hehehe cheers!

  7. paranggago says:

    may kopya ko Ben! kopya kita.

  8. paderewski says:

    sige asahan ko yan. yey!😀

Leave a Reply

